St Mary, Horne
St Mary’s at Horne possibly dates from the 12th century, but was subject to drastic restoration in 1880. The south doorway is the oldest feature, dating from the mid 13th century. The church’s most interesting feature is the monument to John Goodwine (died 1618) and his wife, shown as small kneeling figures with much of their original dark red and green colouring remaining. Apart from a few instances on the 15th century font, all the graffiti is located on the external jambs of the south door. Some of these are inverted, suggesting the stone has been re-sited from its original position. There are text inscriptions that we have yet to decipher, and two other fascinating graffiti - a head with bishop’s mitre-like headgear, and a horned head overlain by a six-pointed star.